St Jude's Church of England Primary School


Board of Governors Membership Details 

He changes times and seasons; he removes kings and sets up kings; he gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding.  Daniel 2:21


The Board of Governors has 14 members:  2 elected Parent Governors; 1 Local Authority appointed Governor; 2 staff Governors, comprising the Headteacher and 1 staff Governor; 1 Co-opted Governor and 8 Foundation Governors.

The Foundation Governors shall comprise 2 appointed by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education, 5 appointed by the Parochial Church Council of St. George the Martyr. A further foundation member shall be the principal officiating minister of the ecclesiastical parish of St. George the Martyr.

The work of the Governors is unpaid, however the Board employees a clerk to administer the recording of the activities of the Board and offer operational advice when appropriate.    The current membership of the Board is listed on the school website. 

The core requirement of all governors is a commitment to work to see the highest standards of teaching and learning, behaviour and personal development established and maintained at the school in order to maximise the educational progress of every pupil and the flourishing of every member of the school community. All governors are expected to take part in regular training to develop and increase their effectiveness.   

Governors (ID 2273)



The Governing Body has delegated authority to the Finance Premises and Staffing, Curriculum and Standards, and Christian Ethos (Faith) Scrutiny Groups. The Scrutiny Groups have nominated Chairs and minutes of all Scrutiny Group meetings are ratified by the Governing Board. The Scrutiny Groups do not have nominated members. All governors can attend any Scrutiny Group and these meetings are always quorate with a minimum of three governors in attendance.

Board of Governors Attendance, membership and declarations

Governor Attendance

Declaration of Interest

 Membership 2022-2023